Laurent Macle, MD, FRCP(C), FHRS

  1. Home
  2. »
  3. Collaborators
  4. »
  5. Laurent Macle, MD, FRCP(C), FHRS

About Laurent Macle

Laurent Macle is a cardiac electrophysiologist, Professor of Medicine at Université de Montréal, and chief of the Electrophysiology service at the Montreal Heart Institute (MHI). 

He completed his Cardiology training at Université de Montréal and did a fellowship in electrophysiology at the MHI. He then spent two years at the Hôpital Haut Lévèque, Université de Bordeaux in France where he specialized in atrial fibrillation ablation with Professor Michel Haïssaguerre. 

Since returning to Montreal in 2002, his research interests have centered on atrial fibrillation (AF) ablation. He obtained multiple research grants, and he has more than 230 peer-reviewed publications in academic journals. He served as a member of the scientific review committees of clinical trials for the Canadian Institute of Health research as well as for the Heart and Stroke Foundation. He is an invited lecturer at national and international conferences and has been involved in the organization of many congresses and symposia. 

He is involved in the training of electrophysiology fellows and physicians in Canada and overseas on catheter ablation and has organized workshops and conferences for electrophysiologists performing AF ablation. 

Dr Macle has been highly involved in teaching and was the director of the electrophysiology fellowship program at the MHI from 2009-2014. 

He was the Chair of the education committee of the Canadian Heart Rhythm Society from 2011-2013. He was the Vice-Chair from 2014-2016 and then the Chair from 2016-2019 of the Education Programs and Services Subcommittee of the Heart Rhythm Society (HRS). He served on the patient and caregiver committee of the HRS from 2019-2021 and now serves on the HRS Program Committee as the team lead for ablation specialty/track. He served as Vice-Chair of the Committee for Area of Focused Competence in Adult Cardiac Electrophysiology of the Royal College of Physicians of Canada (RCPC) from 2016-2019 and as the Vice-Chair of the cardiology examination board of the RCPC from 2016-2022. He was the Co-Chair of the Canadian Cardiovascular Society guidelines on AF and he is the current president of the Canadian Heart Rhythm Society.